If you’re charged with a Class 3 felony in Illinois (first offense), will you go to jail?
Here’s what you need to know.
Class 3 Felony in Illinois, First Offense: Will You Go to Jail?
Class 3 felonies in Illinois – even if it’s your first offense – subject you to harsh penalties if you’re convicted. You could spend up to 5 years in prison and pay fines of up to $25,000.
Crimes that fall under this category include:
Related: Drug possession defenses
What if It’s a Class 3 Felony and It’s Your First Offense?
Sometimes the judge will be lenient with you if he or she finds you guilty of a Class 3 felony. However, it depends on the circumstances of your case.
The judge and jury can apply the maximum penalty available, the minimum penalty, or combination of punishments (like jail time plus fines, for example).
Every case is different, so for many people, it makes sense to talk to a Chicago felony defense attorney who can answer questions and create a strategy to get the best possible outcome.
Related: Should you hire a lawyer if you’re innocent?
Have You Been Accused of a Class 3 Felony, First Offense in Illinois?
If you’ve been arrested and charged with a Class 3 felony and it’s your first offense – or if it’s a subsequent offense – we may be able to help you.
Call us right now at 847-920-4540 for a free case review. You’ll talk to an experienced felony defense lawyer who will answer all your questions, talk about possible outcomes for your case, and start building a strategy that gets you the best possible outcome in court.
"*" indicates required fields