Call a Rolling Meadows DUI Lawyer Now

If you’ve been accused of drunk driving, you can – and should – contact a Rolling Meadows DUI lawyer who can help. The consequences of a DUI conviction can follow you around for the rest of your life.

Who Needs a Rolling Meadows DUI Lawyer?

Illinois takes drunk driving seriously; it’s such a serious crime that even a first offense will cost you your driver’s license. You could also end up spending time in jail, depending on the circumstances of the crime.

It’s not only about drinking alcohol, though. The crime is called driving under the influence, which includes prescription medications and illegal drugs (including marijuana, meth, cocaine, heroin and a wide range of other substances).

If you’ve been accused of DUI in Rolling Meadows, you should get in touch with an attorney immediately. Call us at 847-920-4540 so we can give you the advice you need. We can help prevent you from damaging your case so you get the best possible outcome.

The Penalties for DUI Convictions in Rolling Meadows

Under Illinois law, the penalties for a DUI conviction – whether it was due to alcohol or drugs – vary based on several circumstances. As long as nobody was hurt and you didn’t do any property damage, you can expect the penalties outlined in the table below. However, if you have special circumstances (such as DUI involving bodily harm or death), you’ll face additional penalties. Either way, you need to talk to a Rolling Meadows DUI attorney as quickly as possible.

Level of DUI Crime

Possible Penalty

Class A misdemeanor Up to 1 year in the county jail
Class 4 felony 1 to 3 years in prison
Class 2 felony 3 to 7 years in prison
Class X felony 6 to 30 years in prison

The penalties vary based on how many times you were convicted of DUI before. The following sections outline the possible penalties for a first, second, third and subsequent DUI conviction. Again, these are convictions without special circumstances, such as DUI involving bodily harm or death.

Penalties for First DUI Conviction in Rolling Meadows

Penalties for Your First Rolling Meadows DUI Conviction

If you’ve never been convicted of DUI before, you’re most likely looking at a Class A misdemeanor. You’ll lose your driver’s license for at least a year (but two years if you’re under 21), and the state will suspend your vehicle registration. You may also face these additional penalties:

  • If you had a blood alcohol content level of 0.16 or higher, you have to pay a mandatory minimum fine of $500 and perform at least 100 hours of community service.
  • If you committed a DUI while there was a child under the age of 16 in the car with you, you have to pay a fine of at least $1,000. You also have to perform at least 25 days of community service for an organization or program that benefits children.
  • If you committed a DUI while there was a child under the age of 16 in the car with you and you were involved in a crash that resulted in harm to the child, it’s an aggravated DUI. That’s a Class 4 felony in Illinois, and in addition to other penalties, you must pay a mandatory fine of $2,500 and perform at least 25 days of community service in a program that benefits kids.

Penalties for Second DUI Conviction in Rolling Meadows

Penalties for Your Second Rolling Meadows DUI Conviction

If you’ve been convicted of DUI in the past, you’re looking at a Class A misdemeanor. However, you’re required to spend at least five days in jail or serve 240 hours of community service. And if your previous DUI conviction was within the past 20 years, you’ll lose your driver’s license for at least five years. Your vehicle registration will also be suspended.

Some special circumstances in your case may introduce the following additional penalties:

  • If you had a blood alcohol content level of 0.16 or higher, you have to pay a mandatory minimum fine of $1,250 and serve at least two days in jail.
  • If you committed a DUI while there was a child under the age of 16 in the car with you, you have committed a Class 4 felony.
  • If you committed a DUI while there was a child under the age of 16 in the car with you and you were involved in a crash that result in harm to the child, it’s an aggravated DUI and becomes a Class 2 felony. In addition to other penalties, you must pay a mandatory fine of $5,000 and perform at least 25 days of community service in a program that benefits kids.

Penalties for Third DUI Conviction in Rolling Meadows

Penalties for Your Third Rolling Meadows DUI Conviction

When you have two previous DUI convictions in Rolling Meadows (or elsewhere in Illinois), you’ve committed what’s known as an aggravated DUI. That’s a Class 2 felony, and you’ll lose your driving privileges for 10 years (or more). Your vehicle registration will also be suspended.

There are some special circumstances that can add penalties to your third DUI offense in Rolling Meadows, too:

  • If you had a blood alcohol content level of 0.16 or higher, you have to pay a mandatory minimum fine of $2,500 and serve at least 90 days in jail.
  • If you committed a DUI while there was a child under the age of 16 in the car with you, you’re required to pay a mandatory fine of $25,000 and perform at least 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

Penalties for Fourth DUI Conviction in Rolling Meadows

Penalties for Your Fourth Rolling Meadows DUI Conviction

A fourth DUI conviction is a Class 2 felony – one of the most serious types. You will lose your driver’s license for the rest of your life, and the state will suspend your vehicle registration. Additionally, there are stiffer penalties if you have extra circumstances affecting your case:

  • If you had a blood alcohol content level of 0.16 or higher, you have to pay a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000.
  • If you committed a DUI while there was a child under the age of 16 in the car with you, you’re required to pay a mandatory fine of $25,000 and perform at least 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

Penalties for Fifth DUI Conviction in Rolling Meadows

Penalties for Your Fifth Rolling Meadows DUI Conviction

A fifth DUI conviction in Rolling Meadows means that you were most likely driving without a license (because it’s supposed to be revoked permanently after a fourth conviction, at least in the state of Illinois), and therefore, it’s a Class 1 felony. If you received convictions in other states, they still count in Illinois for the purposes of DUI laws.

You may also face other, additional penalties, such as:

  • If you had a blood alcohol content level of 0.16 or higher, you have to pay a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000.
  • If you committed a DUI while there was a child under the age of 16 in the car with you, you’re required to pay a mandatory fine of $25,000 and perform at least 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

Penalties for Sixth DUI Conviction in Rolling Meadows

Penalties for Your Sixth Rolling Meadows DUI Conviction

If you have been convicted of DUI five times before, making this your sixth time around, you’re facing a Class X felony. That’s the most serious of all felonies in the state of Illinois. If you haven’t already lost your driver’s license for the rest of your life, the judge will take it from you now. Your vehicle registration will also be suspended.

Like other instances of DUI in Rolling Meadows, you may face additional penalties:

  • If you had a blood alcohol content level of 0.16 or higher, you have to pay a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000.
  • If you committed a DUI while there was a child under the age of 16 in the car with you, you’re required to pay a mandatory fine of $25,000 and perform at least 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.

What You Need to Know About BAC Levels in a DUI Charge

Generally speaking, just one alcoholic drink contains about 0.54 ounces of pure alcohol. However, every drink is different, and the alcohol content in mixed drinks typically depends on the bartender who’s making them. As a pretty standard rule, one can of beer, one shot of liquor, and one glass of wine all contain about the same amount of alcohol.

Check out the chart below, which shows the average blood alcohol content (BAC) for a 160-pound man and a 140-pound woman for one hour after drinking. As you preview these charts, you need to know that under Illinois law, the maximum allowable limit for driving is 0.08. If you’re caught driving when your blood alcohol content is higher than that, the state of Illinois can find you guilty of drunk driving.

Rolling Meadows IL DUI Lawyer - Blood Alcohol Concentration Levels and the Legal Limit for Drunk Driving

What You Need to Know About Drugs and DUI in Rolling Meadows

As mentioned in an earlier section, you could be charged with DUI in Rolling Meadows if you have drugs in your system. The drugs can be prescription or illegal – the law doesn’t care. in fact, a court in Rolling Meadows can convict you of DUI related to drugs if you have:

  • A tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) concentration of 5 nanograms or more per milliliter of whole blood
  • A THC concentration of 10 nanograms or more per milliliter of other bodily substance
  • Used any other controlled substance
  • Any impairment due to taking medication, whether it’s over-the-counter or prescribed

Do You Need a Rolling Meadows DUI Attorney?

If you’ve been arrested for DUI in Rolling Meadows or any of the surrounding communities, you’re facing some serious penalties. You could end up in jail or prison, which can lead to a whole range of other problems, such as losing your job – and it can be a domino effect. It’s probably in your best interest to get a free consultation from an experienced Rolling Meadows DUI lawyer.

The best thing you can do is call us at 847-920-4540 or fill out the form below. We’ll be happy to give you a completely free (and totally confidential) consultation. You can ask us your questions about DUI in Rolling Meadows and we’ll talk to you about possible outcomes of your case. Don’t wait – the sooner you get in touch with a Rolling Meadows DUI attorney, The more time your attorney will have to prepare the best possible defense.

Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.