If you’re like many people with a recent arrest, you’re wondering about Class A misdemeanors in Chicago, Skokie, and Rolling Meadows… and how being convicted of one could change your life.
Penalties for Class A Misdemeanors
If the court convicts you of this type of misdemeanor—and for the record, this type of misdemeanor is one step below a felony, so it’s the most “serious” type of misdemeanor under Illinois law—you could be facing harsh penalties.
Penalties for a Class A misdemeanor include up to one year in the county jail and up to a $2,500 fine.
The law says:
“The sentence of imprisonment shall be a determinate sentence of less than one year.”
It continues to say:
“A fine not to exceed $2,500 for each offense or the amount specified in the offense, whichever is greater, may be imposed. A fine may be imposed in addition to a sentence of conditional discharge, probation, periodic imprisonment, or imprisonment.”
Remember, the sentence and the fine each apply to one Class A misdemeanor; if you’re convicted of two (or more) of these types of crimes, you’re facing individual penalties for each.
Examples of Class A Misdemeanors in Illinois
Some of the crimes that count as Class A misdemeanors in Illinois include:
- Possession of cannabis
- Driving on a suspended license
- Theft and retail theft
- Resisting arrest
- Soliciting a prostitute
- Domestic battery
Do You Need to Talk to a Misdemeanor Lawyer in Chicago, Rolling Meadows, or Skokie?
If you need to talk to an attorney about misdemeanor charges you’re facing, we may be able to help you.
Call us as soon as possible at 847-920-4540 or get in touch with us online for a free Class A misdemeanor case evaluation. We’ll talk about the circumstances of your case and start building the defense that gets you the best possible outcome right away.
Write a comment: