The state of Illinois has a zero-tolerance policy on drunk driving, and that means that penalties for DUI are harsh. This guide explains.
What is the Penalty for DUI in Illinois?
The penalties for DUI in Illinois depend on the severity of the incident And the number of prior convictions you have. A DUI may be a Class A misdemeanor, a Class 2 or Class 1 felony, or a Class X felony. The penalties for each are outlined below.
DUI as a Class A Misdemeanor
A first conviction of DUI is typically a Class A misdemeanor unless There are extenuating circumstances. You’ll lose your license for at least a year (but two years if you’re under the age of 21), and your vehicle registration will be suspended. The judge in your case could sentence you to spend up to a year in jail and pay fines of up to $2,500.
Likewise, a second conviction is also a Class A misdemeanor. However, there’s mandatory minimum imprisonment of five days or 240 hours of community service. If your second conviction was within 20 years of your first, you’ll lose your driving privileges for at least five years, and regardless of the time that has elapsed, the state of Illinois will suspend your vehicle registration. You may have to go to jail for up to a year and pay fines of up to $2,500.
Related: 3 big ways a DUI conviction will change your life
DUI as a Class 2 Felony
A third DUI conviction is a Class 2 felony. That means you lose your driving privileges for at least 10 years and your vehicle registration will be suspended.
Similarly, a fourth conviction for DUI in the state of Illinois is a Class 2 felony. However, with a fourth conviction, you lose your driving privileges for the rest of your life. Additionally, your vehicle registration will be suspended.
If you’re convicted of DUI as a Class 2 felony, you could spend between three to seven years in prison.
Related: 3 ways to beat a DUI charge in Illinois
DUI as a Class 1 Felony
A fifth conviction for DUI is a Class 1 felony in Illinois. If you haven’t already lost your driving privileges for life, you will on this conviction. Like all other DUI convictions, your vehicle registration will be suspended.
If you’re convicted of a DUI as a Class 1 felony, you could spend between four and 15 years in prison.
DUI as a Class X Felony
A sixth or subsequent DUI conviction results in loss of driving privileges for life and suspension of vehicle registration.
If you’re convicted of a Class X felony, you could spend between six and 30 years in prison.
Losing Your Driver’s License for Driving Under the Influence
If you have any alcohol in your system when police test you, you’ll lose your driving privileges for at least three months. If you refuse to submit to testing, you’ll lose your license for six months.
If you’ve had a prior conviction for operating under the influence (even if it was simply losing your driving privileges), you’ll automatically lose your driving privileges for a year. And if you refuse to submit to testing, you lose your license for two years.
Do You Need to Talk to an Attorney?
If you’ve been accused of a crime, we may be able to help you – and don’t worry: It’s completely confidential. Call us at 847-920-4540 or fill out the form below to schedule your free, private consultation with an experienced and skilled Chicago criminal defense attorney now.
"*" indicates required fields