With Memorial Day just behind us, many people are now facing DUI charges in the state of Illinois. Whether police pulled you over in Chicago, Rolling Meadows, Skokie or Schaumburg, the fact is that if you had a blood-alcohol content as low as 0.05, you can be convicted of DUI if there is evidence to prove that you were actually impaired while you were driving.
For most people, the best thing to do is call a DUI defense attorney who is familiar with the Cook County court system.
Illinois DUI Laws
According to the Illinois Secretary of State, the average DUI offender is:
- Age 35 or younger
- Arrested between 11:00 p.m. and 4:00 a.m. on a weekend
- Busted driving with a blood-alcohol content of 0.17
What Happens When You’re Arrested for DUI?
Some people are stopped at roadside checkpoints; others are pulled over while driving. Typically, the police officer on the scene will observe the driver and ask for his or her driver’s license, registration and insurance.
If the police officer believes that the driver is under the influence of alcohol or drugs, he or she will ask the driver to submit to field sobriety testing. At that point, if the police officer has probable cause to believe that the driver is under the influence, he or she will place the driver under arrest.
It’s at this point that many people choose to contact an Illinois DUI lawyer for help.
Consequences of DUI in Illinois
If the court convicts you of your first DUI offense, you’re facing a Class A misdemeanor. You’ll lose your driving privileges for up to 2 years, and your vehicle registration will be suspended. If your BAC was 0.16 or more, you’re facing a mandatory minimum fine of $500 and a mandatory minimum 100 hours of community service. If, at the time of the offense, you were transporting a child under the age of 16, you could also face imprisonment of up to six months, a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.
Finally, if you were transporting a child under the age of 16 and involved in a crash that resulted in bodily harm to the child, you’re facing in a Class 4 felony with a mandatory fine of $2,500 and 25 days of community service in a program benefiting children.
The penalties increase for subsequent DUI convictions. It’s important that you talk to your attorney and let him know whether you’ve ever been convicted of a DUI offense in Illinois so he can develop the most helpful strategy.
What to Do if You’re Charged With DUI in Illinois
If you’re charged with a DUI in Illinois, get in touch with an attorney immediately. You can call us at 847-920-4540 or contact us online for a free DUI case review. We will examine the facts in your case and begin developing a defense that gets you the best possible outcome.
Write a comment: