In Chicago (under Illinois state law), misdemeanors are classified according to their severity. Misdemeanors are punishable by less than a year in a local or county jail—unlike felonies, which are punishable by a year or more in prison.
If you’re being accused of committing one of these crimes, it may be a good idea for you to talk to a misdemeanor defense lawyer in Chicago who understands the laws and the possible penalties you may be facing.
Classes of Misdemeanors in Chicago, Illinois
Under Illinois law, misdemeanors fall into three categories:
Class A is the most severe class of misdemeanor, and Class C is the least severe.
Misdemeanor Punishments in Illinois
Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to a year in jail, up to 2 years of probation, and a fine of up to $2,500.
Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to 6 months in jail, up to 2 years of probation, and a fine of up to $1,500.
Class C misdemeanors are punishable by up to 30 days in jail, up to 2 years of probation, and a fine of up to $1,500.
Statutes of Limitations on Misdemeanors in Illinois
In the state of Illinois, misdemeanors have 18-month statutes of limitations. The clock on a statute of limitations on a misdemeanor begins ticking as soon as the crime is committed. That means if 18 months have elapsed, you cannot be charged with a misdemeanor crime—but there are exceptions, so it’s in your best interest to talk to a Chicago criminal defense lawyer if you’re accused of one.
Do You Need a Chicago Misdemeanor Defense Lawyer?
If you need to talk to a Chicago misdemeanor defense lawyer, call us now at 847-920-4540. You can also get in touch with us online for a free misdemeanor case evaluation.
Write a comment: