What is the Worst Felony You Can Get in Illinois

The most serious crimes are felonies – but what is the worst felony you can get in Illinois? Here’s what you need to know.

What is the Worst Felony You Can Get in Illinois?

In Illinois, felonies are categorized by number (except Class X felonies). Here’s a quick run-down of how the state classifies these crimes:

  • Class 4 felonies are punishable by 1 to 3 years in prison
  • Class 3 felonies are punishable by 2 to 5 years in prison
  • Class 2 felonies are punishable by 3 to 7 years in prison
  • Class 1 felonies are punishable by 4 to 15 years in prison
  • Class X felonies are punishable by 6 to 30 years in prison

Class X felonies are the most serious crimes.

Related: What is considered a violent crime?

What Are Class X Felonies in Illinois?

Class X felonies are the most serious crimes the state has, and they come with the harshest penalties. As mentioned in the list above, if you’re convicted of a Class X felony, you can go to prison for up to 30 years – but that’s not all. In fact, if the state convicts you of a certain type of Class X felony, you could get an extended sentence of 30 to 60 years. Usually, these extended sentences are usually for aggravated or armed offenses (like armed robbery).

Common Class X Felonies

Some of the most common Class X felonies include:

  • A 6th or subsequent DUI
  • Aggravated battery with a firearm
  • Aggravated battery of a child
  • Aggravated sexual assault
  • Armed robbery
  • Possession of a controlled substance with intent to sell, generally in large amounts

Punishments for Class X Felonies in Illinois

You could, essentially, spend life in prison if you’re convicted of a Class X felony. The absolute minimum sentence is 6 years in prison – and that’s true even if you have no prior criminal record and this offense is the first run-in you’ve ever had with the law. You can’t be paroled early, either (so the state won’t let you out at any point before you complete your sentence). You won’t be eligible for probation, and the state requires that you have at least 3 years of mandatory supervision after you’re released from prison.

Do You Need to Talk to a Lawyer About a Class X Felony, the Worst Felony You Can Get in Illinois?

If you’ve been accused of committing a Class X felony, we may be able to help you. Call us immediately at 847-920-4540 or fill out the form below so we can get back to you. The consultation is completely free.