If you’re like many people, you need your driver’s license – you have to get from Point A to Point B, no question about it. Whether you’re driving to work, dropping your children off at school or spending time with your family, it’s important that you’re able to drive yourself without restriction. But what happens when you get caught driving on a suspended license? This guide explains.
What is the Penalty for Driving on a Suspended License in Illinois?
The state of Illinois suspends people’s driving privileges for a wide range of reasons, from driving while intoxicated to failure to pay child support. When the state suspends your driver’s license, you’re not supposed to be behind the wheel for any reason – and unfortunately, many employers, professors and others aren’t that understanding when you have to depend on rides from other people.
Although avoiding a suspended license is the best course of action, we understand that things happen, and sometimes people lose their driving privileges when they really need them. However, the last thing you want to do if your license is suspended is drive; doing so comes with serious penalties.
Under Illinois law, you’ll be charged with a Class A misdemeanor for your first offense. The judge in your case has to send you to jail for at least 10 days or sentence you to 30 days of community service, and you may even be ordered to pay fines of up to $2,500.
If you have a second offense of driving on a suspended license in Illinois, you’re looking at a Class 4 felony. You’ll spend time in jail and may have to do community service, and even worse, the judge can choose to suspend your driving privileges for twice as long as your original suspension period – or even add up to a year to your original suspension period. Finally, the judge may even order police to seize your vehicle.
Note: If your first suspension for a charge like DUI, leaving the scene of an accident, reckless homicide or something similar, the state can charge you with a Class 2 felony.
Do You Need to Talk to an Attorney?
If you’ve been accused of a crime, we may be able to help you – and don’t worry: It’s completely confidential. Call us at 847-920-4540 or fill out the form below to schedule your free, private consultation with an experienced and skilled Chicago criminal defense attorney now.
"*" indicates required fields