If you’re like many people, you know that stealing clothing from a retailer – whether it’s a store in the mall, a standalone shop or a kiosk – is against the law. But will happen to you if you’re caught? What are the penalties for stealing clothing in the state of Illinois? This guide explains.
What’s the Penalty for Stealing Clothing in Illinois?
Generally, stealing clothing from a retailer is considered retail theft. In the state of Illinois, retail theft is commonly called shoplifting, and it involves the theft of merchandise from a store or business.
One important thing to know is that if you’re charged with retail theft, there are other, related crimes that the police may arrest you for and the state can charge you with. For example, if you have a theft detection shielding device or a theft detection device remover on your person at the time of the crime, you can be charged with crimes related to those devices.
Retail theft can be a misdemeanor or a felony.
Related: Your rights as a criminal defendant
Penalties for Retail Theft
Usually, weather retail theft is a misdemeanor or felony depends on the value of the merchandise you stole. If the value of the property is less than $300, the state of Illinois generally considers it a Class A misdemeanor. If the value of the property is over $300, the state of Illinois considers it a Class 4 felony.
If you’re convicted of a Class 4 felony, the judge in your case may sentence you to up to three years in prison.
If you’re convicted of a Class A misdemeanor, the judge in your case may sentence you to up to a year in jail.
Related: What is resisting arrest?
Do You Need to Talk to an Attorney?
If you’ve been accused of a crime, we may be able to help you – and don’t worry: It’s completely confidential. Call us at 847-920-4540 or fill out the form below to schedule your free, private consultation with an experienced and skilled Chicago criminal defense attorney now.