If you’re like many people charged with disorderly conduct, you’re wondering what kinds of penalties you might be facing if you’re convicted. Before you get too far ahead of yourself, you might want to think about contacting a Chicago disorderly conduct attorney who can help. With that in mind, disorderly conduct in Illinois punishments can vary.
Here’s what you need to know.
Disorderly Conduct in Illinois: Punishment for a Conviction
Disorderly conduct is a pretty broad term in Illinois. It covers all kinds of activities that:
- Waste public resources
- Unnecessarily cause public fear or stress
- Alarm or disturb others
That can mean a lot of things. Could you be charged with disorderly conduct for spraying passersby with a hose? What about running down the street screaming obscenities? Absolutely – it’s kind-of a catch-all term that law enforcement can use if you’re doing anything that disturbs the peace. Illinois laws are pretty straightforward when it comes to promoting public safety – and that’s why the punishment for disorderly conduct in Illinois can be pretty severe.
Disorderly conduct can be a misdemeanor or a felony, which means the punishment you’ll face for a conviction will depend on the circumstances of your case.
Related: What is the penalty for shoplifting in Illinois?
Illinois Punishment for Disorderly Conduct as a Misdemeanor
The criminal penalties for misdemeanor disorderly conduct depend on how serious the state believes your actions were. If you’re convicted of:
- Disorderly conduct as a Class C misdemeanor, you could go to jail for up to 30 days
- Disorderly conduct as a Class B misdemeanor, you could go to jail for up to 6 months
- Disorderly conduct as a Class A misdemeanor, you could go to jail for up to a year
Illinois Punishment for Disorderly Conduct as a Felony
If the court convicts you of disorderly conduct as a felony, the punishments are more severe than they would be for a misdemeanor. If you’re convicted of:
- Disorderly conduct as a Class 4 felony, you could go to prison for 1 to 3 years
- Disorderly conduct as a Class 3 felony, you could go to prison for 2 to 5 years
Related: When can police arrest you for protesting in Chicago?
What Should You Do if You’re Accused of Disorderly Conduct?
If the police arrest you for disorderly conduct, you have options – and one of them is to get in touch with a criminal defense attorney who can help you get the best possible outcome.
Your attorney will evaluate your case, answer your questions, and see whether it’s possible to make a deal with the prosecutor. He’ll also fight for you in court, whether you’re innocent or you made a mistake. The bottom line is that most people find it’s best to have someone in their corner when they’re facing potentially serious criminal charges and a permanent criminal record.
You can call us at any time. We’re at 847-920-4540. If it’s easier, go ahead and fill out the form below – we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.
FREE REQUEST FORM