If you’re like many people facing DUI charges, you probably have a lot on your plate right now – and you’re most likely very worried. This guide gives you a run-down of frequently asked questions about DUI lawyers in Illinois, including how much it costs to hire one, whether you even need one, and what kind of penalties you’ll be facing if you’re convicted.
What DUI Lawyers in Illinois Want You to Know
First things first: You have the right to hire a DUI lawyer in Illinois. In fact, you should consult with an attorney even if you’re innocent. Your Illinois DUI lawyer will be able to give you case-specific legal advice and represent you in court.
In the meantime, check out these common questions about DUI lawyers in Illinois.
How Do You Find the Best DUI Lawyers in Illinois?
If you have a friend or family member who’s gotten a DUI and had a successful outcome, it may be a good idea to talk to them and ask them which attorney they worked with. Although you can’t expect to get the same results that your friend or family member got because every case is different, you’ll be able to find out whether the attorney was a good communicator and has a solid track record of defending people against DUI charges.
If you don’t know anyone who’s worked with a DUI lawyer in Illinois, the next-best thing to do is start reading DUI lawyer reviews and case results. Find a lawyer you’re comfortable talking to and go from there.
How Much Does a DUI Lawyer Cost?
Every case is different, and all attorneys have different rates. Some cases require a lot more work than others do, so they end up costing more. The best way to find out how much you’ll most likely have to pay a DUI attorney is to call 847-920-4540 now. We can give you a free consultation and discuss how much our team would initially charge to take on your case.
Do You Really Need a DUI Lawyer in Illinois, or Can You Defend Yourself?
Everyone who’s accused of DUI has the right to an attorney. And like you see in the movies, if you can’t afford an attorney, the court will appoint one for you. Though you can defend yourself against a DUI, you may not want to – in many cases, it’s better to have an attorney who understands the law, the penalties you’re up against, and how to argue in court on your side.
What is the Punishment for a DUI Conviction?
If you’re convicted of DUI in Illinois, your punishment depends on the circumstances of your case, such as how old you were at the time of the incident, your blood alcohol content at the time of the offense, and whether you have previous convictions.
Usually (but not always), a first conviction is a Class A misdemeanor. You’ll lose your driving privileges for a year (but two years if you’re under the age of 21) and your vehicle registration will be suspended. There are additional penalties for special circumstances. In addition to the loss of your driving privileges and possible jail time:
- If your blood alcohol content was 0.16 or more, you have to pay a mandatory minimum fine of $500 and do at least 100 hours of community service (though the judge can sentence you to more)
- If you were transporting a child under the age of 16 at the time, you have to pay a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 and do at least 25 days of community service under a program that benefits children (but the judge can sentence you to more)
- If you were transporting a child under the age of 16 and were involved in a crash that harmed the child, it’s a Class 4 felony and carries a potential prison sentence and standard fines. You also have to pay a mandatory fine of $2,500 and complete at least 25 days of community service in a program that benefits children.
Second and subsequent convictions come with even harsher penalties. Whether or not you’ve ever been convicted of DUI before, it’s a good idea to talk to an attorney to find out what type of penalties you’re facing in your case.
Can You Get a DUI Dismissed in Illinois?
It is possible to get a DUI dismissed in Illinois. However, that doesn’t mean it’s possible in your case. There are very specific circumstances in which courts dismiss DUI cases, such as those where police illegally stopped a person or there was a grave error elsewhere in the case. However, that’s one of the first things a good DUI lawyer will look at: whether or not a case can be dismissed.
Your lawyer will work very hard to get you the best possible outcome.
Do You Need to Talk to a DUI Lawyer in Illinois?
If you’ve been accused of drunk driving, we may be able to help you – and don’t worry: It’s completely confidential. Call us at 847-920-4540 or fill out the form below to schedule your free, private consultation with an experienced and skilled Chicago criminal defense attorney now.
"*" indicates required fields